Area businesses and volunteers were honored  recently during the Texarkana Independent School District Partners in Education and Volunteers in Public Schools annual recognition dinner.

Awards were presented as follows:

Neighbors Emergency Center Board of Trustees/Superintendent Award presented to Wells Fargo Bank;

Neighbors Emergency Center Campus Contact Appreciation Award presented to Kathy Abad (Nash Elementary), Kim Byerly (Texas High School), Tonya Byrd (Waggoner Creek Elementary), Annette Daniels (Theron Jones Early Literacy Center), Arvis Deloney (Westlawn Elementary), Sandra Diaz Barriga (Highland Park Elementary), Michele Jones (OPTIONS Academic Alternative High School), Cynthia Lamay (Dunbar Early Education Center), Cindy Marchesani (Morriss Elementary), Amy Moore (Spring Lake Park Elementary), Tressie Morgan (Texas Middle School), Rheba Ross (Wake Village Elementary), Liz Vasquez (Sixth Grade Center @ Texas Middle School);

Neighbors Emergency Center Partner of the Year Awards presented to Twice as Nice Music Academy (Small Business/Group), TEXAR Federal Credit Union (Medium Business/Group) and Red River Federal Credit Union (Large Business/Group);

Neighbors Emergency Center “Promise” Award for Boys To Men Leadership Academy presented to Kappa Gamma Lambda Chapter of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., Ben King, Derrick McGary, Regions Bank, Texarkana Alumni Chapter of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc., Theta Upsilon Chapter of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.;

Neighbors Emergency Center “Promise” Award for Precious Gems Social Club for Girls presented to Gamma Kappa Zeta Chapter of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., Kappa Xi Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha, Inc., Neighbors Emergency Center, Texarkana Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., Texarkana College, Texarkana Zeta AMICAE;

Neighbors Emergency Center Volunteers In Public Schools Awards presented to Texas High School (Team I), Waggoner Creek Elementary School (Team II) and Wake Village Elementary School (Team III);

Neighbors Emergency Center “Volunteer of Distinction” Award presented to Mystee Bennett (Waggoner Creek Elementary), Nicole Blue (Texas Middle School), Debra Buxton (Wake Village Elementary), Tonja Hays (Texas Middle School), Holly Hickerson (Nash Elementary), Chauncey Hooks (Theron Jones Early Literacy Center), Stacy Humphrey (Morriss Elementary), Dr. James A. Morris (Westlawn Elementary), Toni Nix (Highland Park Elementary), Jennifer Shelton (Texas High School), Pastor John F. Stephenson (Spring Lake Park Elementary), TRAHC African-American Committee (OPTIONS Academic Alternative High School).

The Partners In Education (PIE) program and Volunteers In Public Schools program enriches and maximizes the educational experiences of students and staff by developing cooperative partnerships with businesses, parents and community members.  The efforts of one person, one company or one organization can change the life of a student and make a dynamic difference in a program or a school.


More From Majic 93.3