If you're like me, you don't want to see not a NAN NUTHA Facebook message from a friend saying they've gotten another friend request from you and asking you to forward the warning. Don't bother. The scam is a scam. Get a million of these in your inbox over the past couple of months? (See below)

As you can clearly see, the message indicates that my account has been cloned or hacked, and that I should forward the warning to all your friends. RED FLAG!  It's pretty much a given that ANY message that you get asking you to paste and forward it to all your friends is some kind of scam.  Again, don't do it. This could very well make your account vulnerable.

First, you should search your name and see if your account was actually cloned. If so, report it to Facebook immediately.

According to CBS News, there are steps you can take if you suspect you've been hacked, as well:

  • If you worry that your account has been hacked, there is a simple way to check. Go to the arrow in the upper left-hand corner of your Facebook page and click on it. In the menu, select Settings. A new menu will pop up. Choose Security and then Where You're Logged In.
  • A list of all of the devices that you've logged into and their locations. If there is a login you don't recognize, chances are you may have been hacked. If you see anything that isn't you, click End Activity on the right side of the log to end the session. The hacker will be logged out temporarily.
  • Then be sure to change your password. It's a good practice to occasionally change your passwords on a regular basis.

You can also be part of the solution: don't forward chain messages in Facebook - unless you first verify that the concern is legit with a simple Google search.