Your Carry Knife, Is It Legal In Arkansas? In Texas? Anywhere?
Guys like me who grew up in the south were generally raised to always have a knife on your person. I never leave home without one, unless I'm going somewhere where you're not supposed to have one. Thankfully, those places are few and far between these days. More and more people are learning just how handy it is to have a nice sharp blade with you at all times. But, have you ever wondered if the knife you're carrying on you right now is actually legal to carry in Arkansas, or in Texas? Let's find out.
Chances are the answer is yes. Most knives are legal in both Texas and Arkansas but hang on and we will go find out for sure.
In case you were wondering, yes, that Kershaw above is my EDC (Everyday Carry) knife. It cost me $20 at a gun & knife show here in town, it has a spring-open assist with a pocket clip and it's very thin compared to most pocket clip knives. Even though it was inexpensive it has been an extremely effective knife, with a blade that stays sharp and does most everyday jobs very well. At that price point if it gets lost, broken or stolen there's nothing to cry about, just get another one.
I used to carry $7 - $10 pocket clip knives all the time but when I saw the chance to grab that Kershaw at such a good price, I did. You guys who carry $200 - $300 pocket knives baffle me. I think I'd cry if I lost or broke one of those. But if you can afford it, more power to ya.
I have a friend that carries no less than four knives on him at any given time, everything from a tiny pocket knife all the way up to 6-inch fixed-blade sheathed knives. What can I say, he likes knives, and none of them are illegal in Arkansas or Texas.
By the way, my knife is legal to carry in both states thank you very much. Come to think of it, I don't think there's anything with a blade that's illegal in Arkansas, it has the most permissive blade-carrying laws of any state in the union. But if you want to make sure, go here.
Texas does have some restrictions but the laws are not near as bad as they used to be. The Texas Legislature passed a bill in 2017 (HB 1935) that went a long way toward correcting many problems in the state that restricted carrying all kinds of blades. Almost everything is legal to carry in Texas now if you're over 18 years of age and not using them to commit a crime. You cannot carry knives with built-in knuckles, nor can you carry a tomahawk. Under 18 has more restrictions. There are places in Texas you cannot carry knives over 5.5 inches in length and places you can't carry one at all. Click here for a full rundown of the Texas laws.
What About The Rest Of The United States?
If you live in another state or plan on traveling to other states on vacation or business, you need to know their knife laws too. Click on this link and make sure what you carry in any state is being done legally. Knifeup.com
Stay safe out there.